SAC Announces Women’s Tennis Award Winners

SAC Announces Women’s Tennis Award Winners

ROCK HILL, S.C. – Brevard's Claire Dillman and Lincoln Memorial's Leah Donoff have been named co-SAC Women's Tennis Players of the Year, leading the conference's list of award winners that was announced on Wednesday.

Dillman and Donoff both played at the No. 1 singles position for their teams this season. Donoff went 12-3 overall and 8-1 in SAC matches, while Dillman finished the regular season 13-4 overall and 7-2 in the league.

Both Dillman and Donoff earned spots on the All-SAC Singles First Team, joining Wingate's Ali Evers and Becca Thomas, Newberry's Susana Aguirre, Catawba's Liz Renteria and Carson-Newman's Stefy Stand.

Evers went 11-11 overall in singles play this season, while Aguirre went 14-9, Thomas went 13-9, Renteria went 16-8 and Stand finished 5-9. Evers, Aguirre, Renteria and Stand played the No. 1 position for the bulk of the season, while Thomas played at No. 2.

Renteria and Stand tied for the final spot on the All-SAC Singles First Team. Renteria was also named the co-SAC Freshman of the Year, sharing the award with Tusculum's Erin Mills.

Also earning first-team All-Conference honors were three doubles tandems – Newberry's Aguirre and Romina Adum, Brevard's Dillman and Michelle Prata, and Wingate's Evers and Thomas.

Aguirre and Adum finished the regular season at 19-4 overall, Dillman and Prata went 11-6, and Evers and Thomas went 14-6. All three duos played No. 1 for their respective teams.

With voting for the final All-SAC Singles First Team spot ending in a tie, the singles Second Team consisted of only five honorees. Earning selections to the team were Prata, Anderson's Avery Owens, Wingate's Morgan Winston, Mars Hill's Tatiana Dualiby and Catawba's Sloan Kessler.

Rounding out the All-SAC Second Team were the doubles tandems of LMU's Donoff and Aura Penalosa, Anderson's Owens and Karen Ching, and Catawba's Renteria and Sloan Kessler.

Wingate's Michael Cabana was named the SAC Coach of the Year for the third-straight season after leading the Bulldogs to the regular-season conference title. WU went 9-0 in league play and 17-5 overall.



2013 SAC Women's Tennis Awards

Co-SAC Player of the Year: Claire Dillman, Brevard

Co-SAC Player of the Year: Leah Donoff, Lincoln Memorial

Co-SAC Freshman of the Year: Erin Mills, Tusculum

Co-SAC Freshman of the Year: Liz Renteria, Catawba

SAC Coach of the Year: Michael Cabana, Wingate


All-SAC First Team


Claire Dillman, BC ^+

Leah Donoff, LMU ^$@

Ali Evers, WU ^$

Susana Aguirre, NEW %

Becca Thomas, WU

Liz Renteria, CAT*

Stefy Stand, C-N*



Susana Aguirre/Romina Adum, NEW

Claire Dillman/Michelle Prata, BC &

Ali Evers/Becca Thomas, WU #


All-SAC Second Team


Avery Owens, AU %

Morgan Winston, WU

Tatiana Dualiby, MHC ^+

Michelle Prata, BC

Sloan Kessler, CAT



Leah Donoff/Aura Penalosa, LMU

Avery Owens/Karen Ching, AU

Sloan Kessler/Liz Renteria, CAT



* Tied for final first-team singles selection
^ 2012 All-SAC First Team Singles
# 2012 All-SAC First Team Doubles
% 2012 All-SAC Second Team Singles
& 2012 All-SAC Second Team Doubles
$ 2011 All-SAC First Team
+ 2011 All-SAC Second Team
@ 2010 All-SAC First Team