Presbyterian and Carson-Newman Have Players Named to AP All-American Team

JEFFERSON CITY, Tenn. - Three members of the Carson-Newman Eagles football team have been named to the Associated Press Little All-American team. In addition, Presbyterian has one of its own on the team as well.

Members of the Associated Press Little All-American team are comprised of student-athletes from NCAA Division II, III and NAIA schools.

The Eagles' Deonte Bolden (Tampa, Fla.) was a first-team selection at defensive back. Bolden was fourth on the team with 35 tackles and had a team-high six interceptions and seven quarterback hurries. Bolden also played on special teams as he averaged 8.4 yards on punt returns and 29.3 yards on kick-off returns. This is the second time this season Bolden has been named an All-American as he garnered the award from the American Football Coaches Association earlier this month.

Carson-Newman's Anthony Robinson (Winston-Salem, N.C.) was a second-team selection at linebacker. Robinson was named the South Atlantic Conference (SAC) Defensive Player of the Year after leading C-N in tackles with 75. He also had eight tackles for loss, three sacks, two forced fumbles and one safety.

A third C-N player, Pat Egan (Longwood, Fla.), was a third-team All-American at offensive lineman. Egan was one of the anchors on the C-N offensive line that averaged 314.8 rushing yards per game and 411.5 total yards per game.

The Carson-Newman Eagles were 8-2 in 2005.

Presbyterian College senior Marcus Brisbone has been named to the second team.

Brisbone, a 6-1, 271-pound offensive guard from Sumter, S.C., has also been named to the 2005 AFCA All-American team, Daktronics All-Southeast region first team, All-South Atlantic Conference first team honors and was selected as the league's Jacobs Blocking Trophy winner, given annually to the top offensive lineman this year.

He is also a finalist for the 2005 Gene Upshaw Award as the NCAA Division II top lineman. Brisbone averaged over 94% grade-out per game, did not allow a sack or pressure, and never was graded with a "loaf."

Quarterback -- Tyler Emmert, 6-foot-2, 204 pounds, senior, Carroll College.
Running backs -- Jamar Brittingham, 6-0, 200, sophomore, Bloomsburg; Germaine Race, 5-11, 225, junior, Pittsburg State.
Wide receivers -- Evan Prall, 6-0, 173, junior, East Stroudsburg; Nick Bublavi, 6-2, 201, senior, Catholic.
Tight end -- Brandon Twito, 6-7, 273, Pittsburg State.
Linemen -- Chris Kuper, 6-3, 303, senior, North Dakota; Josh Bourke, 6-7, 310, senior, Grand Valley State; Josh McCoy, 6-6, 338, West Texas A&M; Jahri Evans, 6-4, 335, Bloomsburg; Joe Scalice, 6-1, 3o5, senior, Ithaca.
Kicker -- Jeff Glas, 5-9, 200, senior, North Dakota
All-purpose -- Justin Gallas, 6-1, 185, senior, Colorado Mines.
Linemen -- Clayton Farrell, 6-4, 275, senior, Abilene Christian; Dave Tollefson, 6-4, 370, senior, Northwest Missouri State; Andrew Schable, 6-4, 275, senior, South Dakota; Damien Dumonceaux, 6-1, 240, senior, St. John's, Minn.
Linebackers -- Digger Anderson, 6-0, 228, senior, North Dakota; Deandre Fillmore, 5-9, 220, senior, Texas A&M-Kingsville; John DiGiorgio, 6-2, 225, senior, Saginaw Valley State.
Defensive backs -- Dan Peters, 6-0, 210, junior, Shepherd; Deonte Bolden, 5-11, 185, senior, Carson-Newman; Ross Watson, 6-0, 181, senior, Mount Union; Brent Grimes, 5-9, 174, senior, Shippensburg.
Punter -- Jeff Williams, 6-4, 225, senior, Adams State.

QB -- Jimmy Terwilliger, junior, East Stroudsburg.
RB -- Antoine Bagwell, senior, California, Pa.; Justin Beaver, sophomore, Wisconsin-Whitewater.
WR -- Carlton Brewster, senior, Ferris State; Richie Ross, senior, Nebraska-Kearney.
TE -- Keith Recker, senior, Hillsdale.
OL -- Brian Alderson, senior, South Dakota; Marcus Brisbone, senior, Presbyterian; Chad Weeks, senior, Pittsburg State; Greg Bzorek, senior, Edinboro; Mike Zeifert, senior, Augustana.
K -- Michael Green, senior, Valdosta State.
All-purpose -- P.J. Berry, senior, Virginia State.
Linemen -- Alton Pettway, senior, Albany State; Mike McFadden, junior, Grand Valley State; Tim Thompson, senior, Valdosta State; Ross Dilator, senior, Loris.
Linebackers -- J.D. Hearn, senior, Texas A&M-Commerce; Anthony Robinson, senior, Carson-Newman; Lenny Radtke, senior, North Central, Ill.
Defensive backs -- Torrance Daniels, senior, Harding; Michael Baldwin, senior, Kutztown; Joe Rizzo, senior, Washington; Antwan Marsh, senior, Pikeville.
Punter -- Richard Hammond, senior, Texas. A&M-Kingsville.

QB -- Brett Elliott, senior, Linfield.
RB -- Danny Woodhead, sophomore, Chadron State; Tom Arcidiacono, junior, Union, N.Y.
WR -- Brad Hynes, senior, Winona State; Noah Fehrenbach, senior, St. John Fisher.
TE -- Michael Allen, junior, Whitworth.
OL -- Pat Egan, senior, Carson-Newman; Lance Ancar, senior, North Alabama; Steven Broecker, senior, C.W. Post; Brett Wehnert, senior, Salisbury; Dave Hendricks, senior, Thiel.
K -- Evan Granier, senior, Lambuth.
All-purpose -- Aaron Krepps, senior, Washington & Jefferson.
Linemen -- Charlie Cosgrove, senior, St. Cloud State; Michael Cobbins, junior, Missouri Western State; Brian Bond, senior, Rowan; Michael Blair, senior, Trinity, Conn.
Linebackers -- John Tackman, junior, Winona State; Taio Onatolu, senior, Nebraska-Omaha; Brenton Brady, senior, Alfred.
Defensive backs -- Reed Duvall, junior, Fort Lewis; Kyle Killingsworth, junior, Humboldt State; Danieal Manning, junior, Abilene Christian; Wes Hostetler, senior, Ohio Northern.
Punter -- Hunter Hamrick, junior, Mary Hardin-Baylor.