Twelve SAC Student-Athletes Named to 2019 NFF Hampshire Honor Society

Twelve SAC Student-Athletes Named to 2019 NFF Hampshire Honor Society

IRVING, Texas (April 10, 2019) - The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame (NFF) announced today the members of the 2019 NFF Hampshire Honor Society, which is comprised of college football players from all divisions of play who each maintained a cumulative 3.2 GPA or better throughout their college careers. An all-time high of 1,643 players from a record 424 schools qualified for membership in the society's 13th year.

The South Atlantic had 12 players named to the honor society. Representing Carson-Newman were Javon Barnes, Zach Cichocki and Tyson Herron, while Mars Hill had Jake Sell. Newberry's Jawanza Adams, Trevin Mingo-Watts and Kevin Weber were selected, with Kelley Donnelly and Benson Napier representing Tusculum. Wingate's Christopher Birozes, Wade Johson and Austin May rounded out the honorees from the SAC. 

Nominated by their respective schools, members of the NFF Hampshire Honor Society must have:

  • Completed their final year of playing eligibility in 2018;
    • Graduated players, who have remaining eligibility but will not return to collegiate play (e.g. declared for NFL Draft or retired from football), may also be nominated.
  • Achieved a 3.2 cumulative grade point average throughout entire course of undergraduate study; and
  • Met all NCAA- or NAIA-mandated progress toward degree requirements.
  • Been starters or significant contributors throughout the 2018 season.

Full release: Click Here