The South Atlantic Conference Announces Seeds for 2019 SAC Pilot Flying J Baseball Championship

The South Atlantic Conference Announces Seeds for 2019 SAC Pilot Flying J Baseball Championship

ROCK HILL, S.C. ( – The Newberry Wolves captured their first-ever South Atlantic Conference Regular Season Championship, finishing the regular season with a record of 21-3 in conference.  With the crown, Newberry has earned the No. 1 seed in next week's Pilot Flying J South Atlantic Conference Baseball Championship.  

Lincoln Memorial earned the No. 2 seed with an 18-6 record in SAC play.  Catawba received the No. 3 seed with a 17-7 record in conference, and Tusculum picked up the No. 4 seed with a SAC record of 17-7.  Catawba won the tiebreaker over Tusculum by virtue of its 2-1 record versus Lincoln Memorial. Wingate picked up the No. 5 seed after a 14-10 season in conference, followed by Carson-Newman with a record of 12-11 in SAC play at No. 6. 

Rounding out the field of eight for the baseball championship are Anderson at the No. 7 seed with an 8-16 record in conference, and Coker at the No. 8 seed with a 7-17 record. The Cobras tied with Lenoir-Rhyne, but own the tiebreaker thanks to their 1-2 record versus Newberry, while the Bears were 0-3.

The 2019 South Atlantic Conference Pilot Flying J Baseball Championship will be played at Smokies Stadium in Kodak, Tenn., and will get underway on Thursday, April 25.  Thursday's games will be single elimination, while the double-elimination portion of the Championship will be played Friday, April 26-Monday, April 29.  Below is the Championship schedule.

Thursday, April 25 (at Kodak, Tenn.)
#5 Wingate vs. #8 Coker, 4:30pm 
#6 Carson-Newman vs. #7 Anderson, 7:30pm

Friday, April 26 (at Kodak, Tenn.)
#1 Newberry vs. lowest seed from GM 1 & 2, Noon
#2 Lincoln Memorial vs. highest seed from GM 1 & 2, 3:45pm
#3 Catawba vs. #4 Tusculum, 7:30pm

Saturday, April 27 (at Kodak, Tenn.)
GM 3 loser vs. GM 4 loser, Noon
GM 3 winner vs. GM 5 loser, 3:45pm
GM 4 winner vs. GM 5 winner,7:30pm

Sunday, April 28 (at Kodak, Tenn.)
GM 7 winner vs. GM 8 winner, Noon
GM 6 winner vs. GM 8 loser, 3:45pm
GM 10 winner vs. GM 9 loser, 7:30pm

Monday, April 29 (at Kodak, Tenn.)
GM 9 winner vs. GM 11 winner, 1:00pm       
if necessary, 4:00pm