Presbyterian, Carson-Newman Lead SAC All-Conference Football Team; Ellis, Robinson Named Players of Year

ROCK HILL, S.C. - Presbyterian College, which won its first South Atlantic Conference football title since 1979, had a league-high seven players named to the All-South Atlantic Conference football First Team, while second-place Carson-Newman College placed a total of 12 players on the First and Second Team, the league announced today.

Presbyterian senior quarterback Zach Ellis, who led the conference in passing yards per game and passing efficiency, was named the SAC's Offensive Player of the Year, while Carson-Newman senior linebacker Anthony Robinson was named the SAC's Defensive Player of the Year.

Ellis, a senior from Tifton, Georgia, completed 227 of 364 passes for 2,478 yards with 27 touchdowns and seven interceptions in leading the Blue Hose to an undefeated conference record and No. 1 seed in the Southeast Region heading into the NCAA Division II playoffs.

Robinson, a transfer from Winston-Salem State, made an impact in his first season the SAC, recording 75 tackles and three sacks and leading the Eagles' defense which ranked second in the conference in overall defense and rushing defense.

Presbyterian redshirt freshman linebacker Antwan Thomas, a two-time SAC Defensive Player of the Week, was named SAC Defensive Freshman of the Year. He finished the regular season with 93 total tackles, including five sacks.

Carson-Newman freshman quarterback Alex Rouse, who guided the Eagles to their final three regular-season wins, was named SAC Offensive Freshman of the Year. He finished with 295 yards passing with two touchdowns and 265 yards rushing with two touchdowns.

The Jacobs Blocking Trophy Award, presented to the top offensive lineman, tight end or blocking back in the league, went to Presbyterian senior offensive guard Marcus Brisbone, a First-Team All-Conference selection.

Presbyterian head coach Tommy Spangler, who guided the Blue Hose to a 10-1 overall record and No. 9 national ranking, was named Coach of the Year.

The SAC Scholar Athlete for football went to Tusculum College sophomore kicker Glen Black. Black carries a 3.8 GPA as an Accounting major, with minors in management and mathematics. Black scored 24 points this season, hitting 15 of 18 extra points and three of nine field goals. He ranks fourth in Tusculum history with 68 career kicking points, fourth in career extra points, extra point attempts and extra point percentage. He had 32 extra points in 2004 as a freshman and was named Special Teams Player of the Week once.

Black is a campus leader, serving as vice president of the student government after serving as a student senator last year. He leads weekly Fellowship of Christian Athletes Bible study as well as working with a local church to develop a Tusculum Baptist College Night. He has volunteered with numerous community service projects through Nettie Day at Tusculum College and through church activities.

Catawba College had nine All-Conference selections. The Indians placed seven on the First Team.

Tusculum and Wingate University each placed seven on the All-Conference Team. Tusculum had three First Team honorees, while Wingate had two.

Newberry and Lenoir-Rhyne each had six representatives on the All-Conference Team. Newberry had four selections on the First Team, while Lenoir-Rhyne had two.

Mars Hill College had three All-Conference picks, including two on the First Team.

The head coaches in the conference select the All-Conference teams.

A complete list of the 2005 South Atlantic All-Conference Team follows:


First Team

QB - Zach Ellis, Presbyterian
WR - Tymere Zimmerman, Newberry
WR - Christopher Winford, Lenoir-Rhyne
WR - Justin Durant, Presbyterian
WR - Corey Ready, Catawba
RB - Antione Jones, Mars Hill
RB - Kory Fisher, Catawba
RB - Andrew Tudor, Lenoir-Rhyne
TE - Shane Timmons, Catawba
OL - Pat Egan, Carson-Newman
OL - Marcus Brisbone, Presbyterian
OL - Heath Benedict, Newberry
OL - Corey Kirby, Mars Hill
OL - Zack Farr, Newberry
OL - Will Reedy, Catawba
PK- Rush Rollins, Catwba
RS - Octavius Love, Tusuclum

Second Team
QB - Josh Stepp, Newberry
WR - Dan Brooks, Wingate
WR - Jamichael Caldwell, Tusculum
RB - J.J. Chatmon, Carson-Newman
RB - Ray Hightower, Carson-Newman
RB - Mario Crowe, Catawba
TE - Matt Winters, Lenoir-Rhyne
OL - Tee Campbell, Carson-Newman
OL - Gavin Mauldin, Tusculum
OL - Craig Whitley, Wingate
OL - Brandon Manshack, Wingate
PK - Ryan Lukshis, Newberry
RS - Deonte Bolden, Carson-Newman

First Team

DL - Shajai Jackson, Carson-Newman
DL - Kenwin Cummings, Wingate
DL - Ron Ellington, Catawba
DL - Adrian Samples, Tusculum
LB - Antwan Thomas, Presbyterian
LB - Terrance Leverett, Newberry
LB - Anthony Robinson, Carson-Newman
LB - Lester Sconyers, Catawba
DB - Deonte Bolden, Carson-Newman
DB - David Jones, Wingate
DB - Quasi Gary, Presbyterian
DB - Chad Burgess, Presbyterian
P - Stuart Moll, Presbyterian
LS - Robbie Kelly, Tusculum

Second Team
DL - Benjamin McDowell, Lenoir-Rhyne
DL - Anthony Toribio, Carson-Newman
DL - Donte Strickland, Carson-Newman
DL - Marcus Huntley, Catawba
LB - Tim Clarke, Lenoir-Rhyne
LB - Shawn Harris, Tusculum
LB - Eric Rice, Carson-Newman
LB - Allen Smith, Wingate
DB - Jermey Brown, Lenoir-Rhyne
DB - Marcus Robinson, Tusculum
DB - Donald Brown, Wingate
DB - Rashawn Champion, Mars Hill
P - David Brentz, Carson-Newman
LS - Sean Foley, Presbyterian

Offensive Freshman Of The Year: Alex Rouse, Carson-Newman
Defensive Freshman Of The Year: Antwan Thomas, Presbyterian
Offensive Player Of The Year: Zach Ellis, Presbyterian
Defensive Player Of The Year: Anthony Robinson, Carson-Newman
Coach Of The Year: Tommy Spangler, Presbyterian
Jacobs Blocking Trophy Award: Marcus Brisbone, Presbyterian
SAC Scholar Athlete: Glen Black, Tusculum