Wingate’s Sean Barnette Named To Daktronics All-America Team

Wingate’s Sean Barnette Named To Daktronics All-America Team

EDINBORO, Pa. -- Wingate University senior forward/guard Sean Barnette (Rock Hill, S.C.) is a first team Daktronics NCAA Division II All-American, officials announced today. A third team Daktronics All-American in 2007, Barnette is one of only three student-athletes to repeat from last year's team. The others are Winona State (Minn.) University seniors John Smith and Jonte Flowers.

John Smith is the 2008 Daktronics NCAA Division II Men's Basketball Player of the Year. Daktronics All-American team voting was conducted among NCAA Division II sports information directors. Daktronics is a world leader in programmable electronic signs, electronic and digital displays and scoreboards.

The 2008 Daktronics All-American Team was dominated by seniors, with only three juniors among the 15 players honored. Barnette is one of only three South Atlantic Region student-athletes honored. Elizabeth City State University junior guard/forward Anthony Hilliard made the second team, while USC Aiken junior forward Chris Commons earned third team laurels.

A 6-4 forward, Barnette will play for the East All-Star team in the third annual NABC/NCAA Division II All-Star Game to be held Friday, March 28 at the Naismith Memorial Hall of Fame in Springfield, Massachusetts. Friday's tip-off is slated for 7 p.m. EDT.

The All-Star Game will match an East All-Star team (with 10 student-athletes from the NCAA East, Northeast, South and South Atlantic regions) against a West All-Star team (with 10 student-athletes from the NCAA Great Lakes, North Central, South Central and West regions).

Earlier this month, Barnette was named to the Daktronics All-South Atlantic Region first team for the second year in a row. In addition, Barnette was selected the 2008 South Atlantic Region Co-Player of the Year by Daktronics (sharing the honor with ECSU's Hilliard). Also, the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) picked Barnette for their All-South Atlantic Region first team.

The South Atlantic Conference Player of the Year for the second consecutive season, Barnette concludes his career as the all-time leading scorer in SAC history with 2,324 points. He is the only male player in SAC history to score 2,000+ points. Barnette and his teammates compiled a 24-7 overall record in 2007-08, sharing the SAC regular season title with Lenoir-Rhyne.

During his senior campaign, Barnette led the Bulldogs and the SAC with 21.2 points and 9.8 rebounds per game. On the NCAA charts, he is seventh in points per game and 17th in rebounds per game. The 2007 South Atlantic Conference Male Athlete of the Year, Barnette averaged a double-double (21.2 points and 10.5 rebounds per game) in league contests this year.

Barnette has 35 career double-doubles, including 18 this season. The Northwestern High School graduate scored in double figures in 70 consecutive games to finish his career. In 2007, Barnette was named to the ESPN The Magazine Academic All-District III men's basketball first team (college division).

The Bulldog men's basketball team made the best run in SAC men's basketball history in 2006-07. Wingate (25-9 overall, 11-5 SAC in 2006-07) won the Food Lion SAC Tournament for the second consecutive season in 2007. The Bulldogs took the 2007 South Atlantic Regional title on their way to becoming the first SAC men's basketball team to participate in an NCAA Division II Elite Eight event.

Smith and Flowers have led Winona State to a 35-1 record and a berth in the Elite Eight for the third straight year. The Warriors, winners of 29 straight games, will face Grand Valley State (Mich.) University in the quarterfinals.

A 6-8 senior, Smith is averaging 17.7 points per game and 8.6 rebounds per game, both tops on the team. He shoots 52.0 percent from the floor (222 of 249) and has journeyed to the foul line an incredible 244 times, making 178 free throws (73.0 percent).

Smith also has 103 blocked shots, ranking ninth in NCAA Division II. He was named the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference Most Valuable Player. Smith has scored 2,219 career points along with 1,317 career rebounds and 420 blocked shots, ranking in the top ten in NCAA Division II in the last two categories. A year ago, he was named the NABC Division II Player of the Year.

A 6-5 guard, Flowers is averaging 17.2 points per game and 5.4 rebounds per game. The senior has 105 assists and 110 steals, ranking second in the country in steals per game. He is shooting 51.3 percent from the floor (219-of-427). Flowers joins his teammate Smith as a 1,000-point scorer with 1,803 points. He has 431 career assists and 403 career steals. Flowers was named the Most Valuable Player at the North Central Regional.

Guards Steve Dagostino of Saint Rose (N.Y.) and Jonny Reibel of Rollins (Fla.) College complete the first team. Dagostino is the smallest of the Daktronics All-Americans at 5-11. The senior paced the Golden Knights to a 23-8 record. He was named the Northeast 10 Player of the Year for the second straight season.

Dagostino averaged 18.3 points per game, adding 183 assists and 78 steals to his ledger. On the national charts, he ranks 14th in steals and 19th in assists. Dagostino made 64-of-181 three-pointers and shot 88.8 percent from the free throw line (191 of 215), eighth in the country this season. He concluded his career with 1,629 points.

A 6-2 senior, Reibel helped Rollins finish with a 19-9 record. He was previously the Sunshine State Conference Player of the Year in 2006 and 2007. He averaged 20.0 points per game (20th in Division II) and 4.8 rebounds per game. Also, he dished out 202 assists (good for fifth in the country), while turning the ball over only 82 times. Reibel made 63-of-161 three-pointers and was an 80.0 percent free throw shooter, making 161-of-200. Reibel concluded his career with 1,679 points and 688 assists.

A total of eight members of the 2008 Daktronics All-American team will compete in the NABC/NCAA Division II All-Star Game in Springfield, Mass. on Friday, March 28. They include first teamers Barnette, Dagostino and Reibel. In addition, Cory Abercrombie (Pittsburg State), Jeremy Black (Tampa), Jeff Fahnbulleh (Kentucky Wesleyan), Chris Gilliam (Pittsburgh-Johnstown), Devin Peal (Humboldt State) and Michael Sturns (Holy Family) will play in the prestigious NABC/NCAA Division II All-Star Game.


First team
Sean Barnette, Wingate
Steve Dagostino, Saint Rose (N.Y.)
Jonte Flowers, Winona State (Minn.)
Jonny Reibel, Rollins
John Smith, Winona State (Minn.)

PLAYER OF THE YEAR: John Smith, Winona State

Second team
Jeremy Black, Tampa
Callistus Eziukwu, Grand Valley State (Mich.)
Chris Gilliam, Pittsburgh-Johnstown
Anthony Hilliard, Elizabeth City State
Devin Peal, Humboldt State (Calif.)

Third team
Cory Abercrombie, Pittsburg State (Kan.)
Chris Commons, USC Aiken
Jeff Fahnbulleh, Kentucky Wesleyan
Scooby Johnson, Texas A&M Commerce
Michael Sturns, Holy Family (Pa.)